Playwriting Festival 2012

Saturday 3 March 2012

The first festival in our program for 2012 was the Playwriting Festival curated by award winning writer Kate Mulvany.

Panelists included some of Australia’s best and brightest playwrights, dramaturgs, artistic directors and reviewers including Van Badham, Vanessa Bates, Hilary Bell, Fraser Corfield, Duncan Graham, Timothy Daly, Drew Fairley, Eamon Flack, Tom Holloway, Kevin Jackson, Andrea James, Leland Kean, Mark Kilmurry, John McCallum, Tony McNamara, Chris Mead, Ian Meadows, Tommy Murphy, Debra Oswald, Lachlan Philpott, Polly Rowe, Diana Simmonds, Sam Strong, Augusta Supple and Katherine Thomson.

The program covered the craft and business of playwriting with panels on the changing face of Australian playwriting; the pros and cons of working with directors and dramaturgs; what mainstage theatre companies are looking for; working in the fringe theatre scene; the reviewed versus the reviewer; and the playwright’s role in the production process.

You can download a full program for the Festival by clicking here: Playwriting Festival Program

Watch John McCallum’s Keynote Address here.

Read Kate Mulvany’s brilliant article about playwriting here

Kate Mulvany



Join us

Become a member of the NSW Writers' Centre to get Newswrite magazine, discounts to courses and festivals, mentorship, free access to writers' groups, writers' spaces, members' events, the library and more. Join now ›

Follow us on