NSW Writers’ Centre Varuna Fellowships

The NSW Writers’ Centre Varuna Fellowships have been awarded to two lucky writers in 2017. Adele Dumont was awarded the general fellowship for her beautifully written untitled memoir. Winner of the fellowship for a writer under 30 was Christopher McDonald for his speculative fiction novel, The Lightreaders.

Runners-up were Vanessa Kirkpatrick for her moving collection of poetry, The Next Room, and Betty O’Neill for her gripping memoir, Finding my Absent Father.

The judges were impressed by the quality and stylistic diversity of entries across genres, noting a particular strong contingent of entries in the memoir and narrative non-fiction categories.

The NSW Writers’ Centre Varuna Fellowship is an annual prize for a writer who has a manuscript, play or suite of poems that is ready for the next stage of development. In 2017 two fellowships were available, with one place reserved for a writer under the age of 30.

Judges of the 2017 NSW Writers’ Centre Varuna Fellowship were Hachette publisher Vanessa Radnidge, author Julie Koh and NSW Writers’ Centre Executive Director Jane McCredie. Previous NSW Writers’ Centre Varuna Fellowship winners include Irma Gold, Alex Chalwell, Mark Brandi, Jacqui Dent, Helen Thurloe, Lucie Stevens, Alison Thompson and Greg Woodland.

Entries for the prize open annually. Applicants must be NSWWC members and be willing to commit to developing their work.

Join us

Become a member of the NSW Writers' Centre to get Newswrite magazine, discounts to courses and festivals, mentorship, free access to writers' groups, writers' spaces, members' events, the library and more. Join now ›

Follow us on